From the Mouths of Babes

My Birthday is this weekend. My students and their parents wanted to give me a little party.

And boy did they go to town.

Treats. Flowers. More treats. Homemade cards. A stuffed animal owl (both a favorite animal of mine and my personal symbol at school).

But the crowning thing, the thing that made my day and will make days to come, was this.

photo1-1

The parents interviewed all the kids and asked them what they like about me. Then, one parent collected them and turned them into a Wordle in the shape of my symbol.

I don’t teach to get recognition. I don’t go into it expecting praise and gift and thanks. I do it because I love kids and I genuinely enjoy their company and take pride in watching them learn.

Still, words cannot describe how much this gift means to me.

I spend everyday watching the kids and observing what I think they’re getting out of their time with me. So I think I know.

But this beautiful piece of art not only makes a gorgeous decoration, it tells me in the kids’ own words what our days spent together mean to them. And it’s really nice to know that. It’s really nice to hear it from the horses’ mouths.

What a wonderful birthday gift.

4 thoughts on “From the Mouths of Babes

  1. What a beautiful gift. They care about you so much because you care about them so much! What a beautiful memory you will always have of this class. Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

