If You Want This Choice Position

Last night, I had occasion to visit a childhood favorite: Mary Poppins. Well—if I’m being honest— “favorite” is an understatement. I watched the VHS of this so very often as a child that the tape began to wear out. Add to that, I had a copy of the audio cassette (dating myself!) that I listened to each and every night over an and over until I fell asleep. Maybe I even rewound “Supercalafragilisticexpialadocious” about 20 times until I memorized how to say it backwards… (dociousexpialaliisticfragicalarepuS. She kind of cheats and only puts super backwards. But we can forgive her).

There’s lots of reasons this movie resonated with  me as a child:

  • Goddess Divine, Julie Andrews.
  • Eternal Heartwarmer, Dick Van Dyke.
  • Imagination.
  • Adventure.
  • Beautiful, catchy music.
  • Magical clean ups.
  • Love.
  • Grow ups learning to be better at being grown ups.
  • Kids learning how to be better at being kids.

All of those reasons still remain with me to this day. Watching it again with my teacher lenses on, however, I found a new layer of reason to relate to the movie.

When it came time for the “Perfect Nanny” song by Jane and Michael I (naturally) began to sing along. As I sung along, I thought to myself, “wow! They’re kind of describing the trappings of a teaching to the whole child, child-centered classroom. And all from a kid’s perspective.”

So, I started taking it apart as a group of advice from students on how to be a relatable teacher. Let’s look at the lyrics of the song from the movie:

If you want this choice position
have a cheery disposition


Be cheerful. Put joy in your classroom. Be playful. Take time to have fun with your kids and to make lessons fun.

 Rosy cheeks, no warts!


Ok. Maybe this one isn’t so important. I don’t think a gorgeous complexion makes a good teacher. Still, I think this relates to having a cheery disposition. I think that if you come in pleasantly and friendly, your children see you as warm, glowing and approachable. I think that if you come in grumpy, unpleasant, and irritable, you can start looking grim to the students. I can certainly point to times where my mean teacher voice has come out where the children probably saw me as something spectral, like a warty, crooked nosed witch.

 Play games, all sorts.


PLAY! PLAY! PLAY! Make games for learning. Make games for having fun. Teach them lots of different fun ways to play together. And play with them!

 You must be kind, you must be witty
Very sweet and fairly pretty.

Be kind. It stands by itself. If you want to teach children kindness, approach them with kindness.

Be witty… teaching involves being on your feet and having a quick wit. It means reading the room and making decisions as you go. It means coming up with creative ways to reach everybody and to keep reinventing the wheel on how to engage the whole class. As an aside, I also like to think that my penchant for puniness gets me the “witty” descriptor. Though when honest with myself, I know that puns are typically los on the PreK mind.

Very sweet and fairly pretty… Again I think the image of the teacher that students get comes directly from the teacher’s disposition. Be warm. Be loving. Be a friend.

 Take us on outings, give us treats
Sing songs, bring sweets.


Go play outside! Go take walks! Explore! Have adventures!

Sing! Sing! SING! Maybe it’s only true in Early Childhood, I don’t know. But for my money, singing is essential for greetings, partings, transitions, learning activities, games, and adjusting attitudes. It is also fun.

Give treats and bring sweets… Maybe not so much. I work in public school. I try to help point them toward healthy choices, rather than provide candy. Still, I’d like to think that when I do things like sanction a “Frozen” dance party or take 10 extra minutes to finish a game rather than force transition to journal time, the students feel like they’ve been given a treat.

 Never be cross or cruel
, never give us castor oil or gruel.

Never be cross!? Of course you get pushed over the edge and end up being cross sometimes. Sometimes you have to be cross. Or at least firm. But humans don’t like to be yelled at. So do your best to redirect firmly, but not degradingly.

Don’t be cruel. Let consequences be natural. Aim to be restorative, not punitive.

Luckily as a teacher, not a caretaker, we get to evade ever being the purveyor of nasty remedies or foods :).  

Love us as a son and daughter and never smell of barley water.

Love us as a son and daughter. Of course you can’t get so emotionally attached that you forget to be firm and guiding. But teaching is naturally an act of love. You become wholly invested in the growth and change of 20 individual children. You see every side of their temperament. So think of them as your family. Learn to love them, warts, rosy cheeks and all so that you always approach them from a charitable and compassionate place. And even more importantly, make sure they feel loved.

If you won’t scold and dominate us,
we will never give you cause to hate us.

Finally, the truth. You get what you give. Don’t dominate. Don’t dictate. Be fun, be loving, be helpful. Don’t make the kids feel controlled, belittled, put down and they won’t see teachers (or grown ups in general) as enemies.

Of course this is just scratching the surface. It is silly, and even outdated in some places. But at its core, it reflects the essential things that children hope to get from the grown ups that guide and take care of them. And bonus, now I have a viable reason to love Mary Poppins as a 28 year old ;-).

I wonder what my students would write if I asked them to compose such a thing. Maybe it would be worth it to ask them this for their next journal entry….

10 thoughts on “If You Want This Choice Position

  1. Adorable! Makes me wonder who wrote the song! It is very “whole child.” Love that last line, If you won’t scold and dominate us,
we will never give you cause to hate us. You are right – you get what you give! Thanks for this creative, fun post!

  2. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this slice! You drew me right in with Mary Poppins- my childhood favorite too! I loved how you analyzed it and related it to teaching- my favorite was love us as a son and daughter. I am going to go back and watch it again! Have you read the book? I just started reading it to my daughter last night and the differences are interesting.

    • I haven’t read the book and was thinking while watching it about how great it would be to read and compare. And then, it’d be fun to go watch the movie about the adaptation.

  3. I also love Mary Poppins and I feel like you did a great job summing up all of the reasons in your list. I want to put on the movie right now! Thank you for reminding us of those lyrics and including your thinking. I never even thought about it that way and I definitely agree with you. I think it’d also be neat to have children listen to that song and have them write their interpretation of those lines. I bet they’d be similar to what you mentioned!

  4. What a great post! This is the title of your first book! I am sure of it! I will never listen to this song the same again! I often listen to music thinking about teaching too. “Sing! Sing! SING! Maybe it’s only true in Early Childhood, I don’t know. But for my money, singing is essential for greetings, partings, transitions, learning activities, games, and adjusting attitudes. It is also fun. ” Singing is important with the big kids too! Brave was our class mantra for like two months. Lol. We mostly rap these days. But rapping about honor roll is a good thing. Totally love this post! Thanks for sharing!

  5. I am struck by the song including pretty as a quality for a good caretaker. It makes me think of aesthetics. Sometimes I think the words beautiful and pretty have been reduced to meaning the most recent fads of physical attractiveness. I like to think about beautiful having more to do with care and intentionality, balance, clarity, flow. Maybe especially care. Taking care with things and people. That sure sounds like Mary Poppins to me. It sounds like you too.

    • Yes! That’s exactly what I was trying to get at. But you get there more clearly than I do. Truth told, I almost left that line of the song out of the post because it made my head explode. But then I reflected on it and came to peace with the idea of what you project to others when you work on honing inner beauty. And thanks for the kind words 🙂

Leave a comment