A Blue Saint Patrick’s Day

Unexpected Snow Day       

One of my favorite holidays, an excuse to get festive and deck out an outfit-canceled.

Plans for the week- foiled.

Momentum in getting back into routines, in building positive behavior- slowed.

At least I can sleep in- cold feeling better.

At least I can take time to catch up with a friend- Mani Pedi!

At least I have time to work on that wretched paper I have due for my certification program.
Then.

BOOM!

Unexpected Migraine.

Work time- lost.

Motivation- non-existent.

Pain- severe.

Sleeping instead of working.

Buried under pillows.

Ice on face.

Can’t take any light.

Can’t take any noise.

Don’t work on your paper, it’ll make your headache worse.

But now, buried in your fortress of ice and darkness and quiet and forced rest, you’re worrying about your paper and your headache is getting worse anyway.

It’s 9 and I’m coming out of it. Do I do what I can? Or do I rest so that I have the energy to do it in the next 2 days?

Part of being a teacher is being flexible, rolling with it, accepting that even the best laid plans sometimes have to be abandoned.

But what do you do when 2 surprises in a day mean setbacks for a whole week?

 Discouraged. Disgruntled. Sick of snow. Let down by my own body. Ready to be done taking classes. 

7 thoughts on “A Blue Saint Patrick’s Day

  1. I don’t suffer from migraines, but I know people who do. I can only imagine the frustration of not being able to accomplish anything piled on top of the pain. Then add more snow. Hoping tomorrow is better for you.

  2. The staccato rhythm of your post seems to mirror the throbbing of your headache. Here’s hoping some rest will bring healing and clarity!

    • It’s interesting that you note that. It wasn’t intentional. But then again, most of this came to my mind while I was lying under the pillows and trying to feel better. So maybe it wrote itself that way. Brains are pretty cool. Even if sometimes they throb you to death.

  3. I could feel your pain through your words – they are so powerful. I’m so sorry -I can’t imagine that feeling – you described it so well. Please take care of yourself and know that being human is all we can be.

    • Thank you for your kind words.

      And it is true. I often forget to remind myself that I am human and I have limitations and sometimes I cannot lives up to the monumental expectations I set for myself.

      While griping about my migraine was certainly part of my blog- (what are blogs for if not ventilation and catharsis?), my intention was also to speak to the larger frustrating issue of life sometimes straight up getting in the way of the demands so constantly set forth by this profession.

      I certainly appreciate sympathy for my monster migraine. It is nice to hear such supportive words from so many on this page. But hope that I don’t come off as sympathy-seeking. That’s not what I intend for blogging to be.

  4. Oh, you poor thing. That is so frustrating when you have a list and the motivation but your body son’t co-operate. I liked the way you wrote this. Short and sharp, it gave it that feeling of frustration. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a comment